A license for ESET Endpoint Encryption (EEE) can be a subscription, trial, or perpetual license. This article describes what happens to the EEE software when a license expires and how it affects your encrypted data.
When an EEE subscription or trial license expires, a warning will display when you log in to the EEE client. This message will appear each time until the license is renewed or upgraded to a full license. EEE will not allow any new data to be encrypted. Any encryption attempts, including starting full disk encryption, will trigger a warning message. Renewing your license re-enables the encryption functionality.
Current encrypted data can still be accessed and decrypted, including the types and systems below:
Perpetual licenses do not expire; however, their support and maintenance have an expiration date. When support and maintenance expire for a license, you will no longer receive technical support or software updates. The current version of EEE will continue to function as usual. The EEE server’s Licenses screen and About screen will indicate support and maintenance have expired.
If you are managing EEE with an EEE Server, the EEE client will work as described above when a license expires. When the license expires, the following options will not be available for trial and subscription licenses:
The Licenses screen in EEE shows details of the license, including the expiration date.
When you have purchased an upgrade or renewal you will need to update the software with the new license.