[KB7165] Upgrade client machines to a later version of ESET Endpoint Encryption

Issue

Solution

Download installer

  1. Download a Merged Install from the ESET Endpoint Encryption Server.
  2. Run the .msi on the client workstation. The .msi can be deployed manually, using GPO or any software distribution method.

Auto Update Check Mode

  1. On your ESET Endpoint Encryption Server, navigate to Auto Update Check Mode Workstation Policy and select the Configured option.
  2. In the Setting drop-down menu, select an option for updating your workstations:
  • Auto Update Disabled—disables Auto Update for the workstations
  • Update to any version—automatically upgrades the workstations to the latest ESET Endpoint Encryption version
  • Update to specified version—upgrades workstations to a specific ESET Endpoint Encryption Client version

Figure 1-1

  1. If you selected Update to specified version, or if you are changing the updated version at a later date, select the version in the next window and click OK.
    EEE versions

    This list comes from the EEE Server. It is unrelated to any versions of EEE that you have uploaded to your EEE Server.

Figure 1-2

  1. After you create the Workstation Policy, the client computer will routinely check the availability of the version specified in its current language. If it is available, you will be prompted to install it.

Click Postpone to postpone the installation for 10 minutes, 2 hours, or 4 hours. Otherwise, click to Install and the workstation will automatically restart.


Push installation

If the client workstation is available on the network and the EEE Server can see the machine, then you can remotely install the latest version using the Push Install feature. 

  1. To initiate an update, rescan the network. Ensure that the Exclude machines that already appear in the Organisation is unselected. The default behavior is to hide machines from this list that already appear in the Organisation since they would already have EEE installed. The process is the same as a normal Push install.
Managed Uninstall Option

If your client workstations were installed with Managed Uninstall mode or Optional Password, enable these features when upgrading your current client version.