[KB941] How do I restore default firewall settings in ESET Endpoint Security? (5.x)

Solution

A new version has been released

Version 6 of ESET Remote Administrator (ERA) and ESET business products were released in North America December 11th, 2014, and globally February 25th, 2015. This article applies to version 5.x and earlier ESET business products. For information about what's new in the latest version and how to upgrade, see the following article:

Restoring default values will delete all existing firewall rules and settings

The procedure below will reset all Personal firewall rules to default. To edit individual rules, open the Zone and rule setup window (press F5 to display the Advanced setup window, expand Network → Personal firewall and click Rules and zones Setup in the Zone and rule editor section). If you do not see a list of all rules when you open the Zone and rule setup window, click Toggle detailed view of all rules.

If you do not use ESET Remote Administrator to manage your network

Perform these steps on individual client workstations.


In ESET Remote Administrator Console

    1. Open ESET Remote Administrator Console by clicking Start All Programs ESET  ESET Remote Administrator Console ESET Remote Administrator Console.

  1. Click the Clients tab, select the clients for which you would like to edit configuration settings (hold CTRL + click to select multiple clients). Right-click the selected clients and select New TaskConfiguration Task from the context menu.

Figure 1-1

  1. Click Create.

Figure 1-2

  1. Expand Windows desktop v5, right-click Personal firewall and select Set Default Value from the context menu.

Figure 1-3
Click the image to view larger in new window

  1. Click Console to send the task out to endpoints (client workstations).


On individual client workstations

    1. Open ESET Endpoint Security or ESET NOD32 Antivirus. How do I open my ESET product?

    2. Press F5 to access Advanced setup.

  1. Expand Network, click Personal firewall and then click Default.

Figure 2-1
Click the image to view larger in new window

  1. Select Revert only "Personal firewall" settings to defaults and click Yes.

Figure 2-2

  1. Click OK to exit Advanced setup and save your settings.