Send a Modules update task to clients using ESET Remote Administrator (6.x)

Issue

  • Module update failed: "An error occurred while downloading update files"

Solution

 Endpoint users: Perform these steps on individual client workstations

End of support for version 6.4 and 6.5 of ESET Remote Administrator / MDM

ESET Remote Administrator version 6.5 is currently in Limited Support status and will soon be in Basic Support status. It is expected to reach End of Life status in December 2020.

ESET Remote Administrator version 6.4 is currently in basic support status and is expected to reach End of Life status in December 2019.

The MDM functionality in ESET Remote Administrator version 6 is in Basic Support status as of April 11, 2019. After this date, MDM version 6 will no longer be available for download.

View permissions needed for least privilege user access

ERA 6.5 User Permissions

This article assumes that your ERA user has the correct access rights and permissions to perform the tasks below.

If you are still using the default Administrator user, or you are unable to perform the tasks below (the option is grayed out), see the following article to create a second administrator user with all access rights (you only need to do this once):

A user must have the following permissions for the group that contains the modified object:

Functionality Read Use Write
Modules Update (under Client Tasks)

A user must have the following permissions for each affected object:

Functionality Read Use Write
Groups & Computers

Once these permissions are in place, follow the steps below.

  1. Open ESET Remote Administrator Web Console (ERA Web Console) in your web browser and log in.

  2. Click Admin Client Tasks → Modules Update.
  1. Click the Modules update task and select Edit from the context menu.

Figure 1-1
Click the image to view larger in new window

  1. Expand Settings and select the check box next to Clear update cache. You will add Targets after the task is created.

    ESET Remote Administrator version 6.2.11 and earlier:

    Adding targets is done during task creation (for example, after adding a new task and giving it a Name, click Target to add groups or clients to the task).

  2. Click Finish when you are finished making changes to the task.

Figure 1-2

  1. Click the task and select Rerun on failed from the context menu.

Figure 1-3
Click the image to view larger in new window

  1. Expand Target. The client workstations which had the original task fail should be listed. Click Finish.

Figure 1-4
Click the image to view larger in new window

 

Mais Artigos:

Assistęncia Adicional